SURFACE TRANSPORTATION BOARD

DECISION

Docket No. EP 770

URGENT ISSUES IN FREIGHT RAIL SERVICE

Decided: April 22, 2022

By decisions served on April 7 and April 20, 2022, the Board announced that it will hold a public hearing on April 26 and 27, 2022, on recent rail service problems and recovery efforts involving BNSF Railway Company, CSX Transportation, Inc., Norfolk Southern Railway Company (NSR), and Union Pacific Railroad Company. This decision adjusts the start time of day two of the hearing and updates the schedule of speakers.

The hearing will be held in the hearing room of the Board's headquarters, located at 395 E Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20423-0001. On April 26, the hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. On April 27, the hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. Please note that the 9:00 a.m. start time on April 27 is a change from previous announcements.

The Board is pleased to welcome The Honorable Pete Buttigieg, U.S. Secretary of Transportation, who will appear at the hearing on Tuesday, April 26. Additionally, on April 21, 2022, Pilot Travel Centers LLC (Pilot) submitted a notice of intent to participate in the hearing (requesting 10 minutes of time), which it asks for permission to file late. Pilot's request will be granted, and it will be allotted 10 minutes. Finally, several parties scheduled to appear at the hearing, including NSR, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc., and American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers, have sought adjustments to the schedule or their speaker lists.

A revised schedule of appearances reflecting the foregoing is set forth in the Appendix to this decision.

It is ordered:

- 1. Pilot's late-filed notice of intent to participate is accepted.
- 2. Time for presenting at the hearing is allotted as reflected in the Appendix to this decision.
 - 3. This decision is effective on its service date.

By the Board, Scott M. Zimmerman, Acting Director, Office of Proceedings.

20 minutes

APPENDIX

SCHEDULE OF APPEARANCES

Party Time Allotted Day 1 – April 26, 2022 Panel I Hon. Pete Buttigieg, Secretary of Transportation, U.S. Department of Transportation Hon. Jewel H. Bronaugh, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture, U.S. Department of Agriculture Hon. Carl W. Bentzel, Commissioner, Federal Maritime Commission Panel II 20 minutes National Grain and Feed Association and American Farm Bureau Federation Michael Sevfert. President and Chief Executive Officer. National Grain and Feed Association • Andrew Walmsley, Senior Director of Congressional Relations for the American Farm Bureau Federation • Thomas W. Wilcox, Esq., of The Law Office of Thomas W. Wilcox, LLC 10 minutes American Chemistry Council • Chris Jahn, President and Chief Executive Officer • Jeffrey Sloan, Senior Director of Regulatory and Scientific Affairs The Fertilizer Institute 10 minutes • Justin Louchheim, Senior Director, Government Affairs Cargill 10 minutes • Brock Lautenschlager, North America Rail Leader 5 minutes Growth Energy • Chris Bliley, Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Panel III Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO 5 minutes • Greg Regan, President

SMART Transportation Division

• Jeremy Ferguson, President

SMART Transportation Division Members 30 minutes Matthew Brukart • Steven Groat • Chris Bond Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen 15 minutes • Mark L. Wallace, Vice President Panel IV Loop Capital Markets 25 minutes • Rick Patterson, Railroad Analyst Panel V Norfolk Southern Railway Company 30 minutes • Cindy Sanborn, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer • Ed Elkins, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer • Annie Adams, Executive Vice President and Chief Transformation Officer • Raymond A. Atkins, Esq., of Sidley Austin LLP Panel VI 30 minutes Private Railcar Food and Beverage Association • Herman Haksteen, President • David Burchett, Procurement Director, Supply Chain Indirects, Molson Coors Beverage Company • Robert McRae, Vice President of Transportation, Univar Solutions • Daniel Elliott, Esq., of Daniel Elliot PLLC American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers 10 minutes • Rob Benedict, Vice President, Petrochemicals and Midstream **Delek Companies** 15 minutes • Todd O'Malley, Chief Operating Officer, and/or • Michael Ralsky, Vice President, Public Affairs & ESG

Panel VII

CSX Transportation, Inc.

30 minutes

- Jamie Boychuk, Executive Vice President of Operations
- Diana Sorfleet, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer
- Raymond A. Atkins, Esq., of Sidley Austin LLP

Day 2 – April 27, 2022

Panel VIII

National Industrial Transportation League • Ross Corthell, Chair of National Industrial Transportation League's Rail Committee, and Vice President, Transportation at Packaging Corporation of America	10 minutes
American Forest and Paper Association • Julie Landry, Director of Government Affairs	10 minutes
Packaging Corporation of America • Doug Grewe, Transportation Manager	10 minutes
 National Association of Chemical Distributors Jennifer Gibson, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Jackie Wood, Hawkins, Inc. 	10 minutes
Occidental Chemical Corporation • Karenanne Stegmann, Vice President of Supply Chain	10 minutes
International Liquid Terminals Association • Kathryn Clay, President, or Michael Stroud	15 minutes
Pilot Travel Centers LLC • Shameek Konar, Chief Executive Officer	10 minutes
Panel IX	
 Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., Freight Rail Customer Alliance, and National Coal Transportation Association Emily F. Regis, Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., Freight Rail Customer Alliance, and National Coal Transportation Association Ann Warner, Freight Rail Customer Alliance John Ward, National Coal Transportation Association Robert D. Rosenberg, Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., Freight Rail Customer Alliance, and National Coal Transportation Association 	15 minutes
National Mining Association • Katie Mills, Esq., Associate General Counsel	5 minutes
Portland Cement Association • Steve Ambrose, GCC of America	15 minutes

Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc.

10 minutes

• Ben Abrams, President & Chief Executive Officer

Corn Refiners Association

10 minutes

• Eamon Monahan, Vice President, Environmental Affairs and Workplace Safety

TransDistribution Brookfield Railroad and Sweetener Supply Company

15 minutes

• David C. Dillon, Esq., of Dillon & Nash, Ltd.

Panel X

Transport Workers Union of America,

20 minutes

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division/IBT, Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen, and International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers/Mechanical Division

• Richard S. Edelman, Esq., of Mooney, Green, Saindon, Murphy and Welch, P.C.

Transportation Communications Union/IAM

15 minutes

• Matthew Hollis, National Vice President and Special Assistant to the President

Panel XI

BNSF Railway Company

30 minutes

- Stevan Bobb, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer
- Judy Carter, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
- Matthew Garland, Vice President, Transportation
- Jill K. Mulligan, Esq., Vice President and General Counsel, Regulatory

Union Pacific Railroad Company

15 minutes

- Eric Gehringer, Executive Vice President, Operations
- Elizabeth Whited, Executive Vice President, Sustainability and Strategy
- Michael Rosenthal, Esq., of Covington & Burling LLP

Panel XII

Canadian National Railway Company, U.S. Rail Operating Subsidiaries

15 minutes

- Representatives that will be specified upon confirmation of witness availability.
- Kathryn J. Gainey, Esq., Deputy General Counsel
- Matthew J. Warren, Esq., of Sidley Austin LLP

Canadian Pacific Railway Limited

15 minutes

- James Clements, Senior Vice-President Strategic Planning and Technology Transformation,
- David L. Meyer, Esq., of the Law Office of David L. Meyer